IRLA Logo


Members

Foreign Corresponding Members

Purpose

The Independent Research Libraries Association was established in 1972 in order to address the future of independent, privately-supported research libraries. From its inception, IRLA has dealt with common needs and aspirations -- how to preserve the precious cultural heritage represented in our vast collections, how best to serve the public and the world of scholarship, and how to finance and manage costly, fragile libraries that must survive largely without the security of public or university support.

Membership

Our nineteen member institutions have diverse origins, ranging from the eighteenth-century beginnings of the Library Company of Philadelphia and the American Philosophical Society through the mid-twentieth century founding of the Linda Hall Library and the Hagley Museum and Library. Some, such as the Pierpont Morgan Library, the Huntington and Winterthur, include major museum collections. Several of the nation's oldest and most distinguished historical societies are IRLA libraries. Many, such as the Newberry, the Folger Shakespeare Library, and the American Antiquarian Society, are national centers of scholarship in the humanities.

Three common threads unite IRLA's members, in effect comprising the criteria for membership:

  1. our libraries house collections of national or international significance that are capable of supporting sustained research in a variety of interrelated subjects and of attracting scholars from all over the world;
  2. they are organized as privately endowed, independent institutions, each with its own act of incorporation or charter, its own board of trustees, and a full-time professional chief executive officer;
  3. their primary purposes are to collect and to make available the records of the past, to promote research in them, and to share those materials with scholars and the public.

For more information about membership, please contact John C. Van Horne, chair of the Membership Committee, at the Library Company of Philadelphia. If you would like to know more about the needs and opportunities at the libraries in IRLA, please contact the current president of IRLA, Charles Bryan at the Virginia Historical Society.

Research Centers

IRLA libraries have developed as centers for organized research and education. Scholars are served through fellowhips, seminars, conferences, institutes, as well as through such publications as catalogs, guides, monographs, journals, and books. Many collections are cataloged on nationally accessible computerized databases. The public is served through exhibitions, tours, lecture programs, classes, audio-visual and computer-based materials, and popularly oriented pamphlets, facsimiles, and books. Independent research libraries have become true intellectual communities.

Foreign Corresponding Member

In 1984 IRLA elected a Foreign Corresponding Member -- the renowned Herzog August Bibliothek in Wolfenbuttel, Germany. The Herzog August Bibliothek originated as a ducal collection in 1572; by the seventeenth century its 130,000 items constituted the largest collection in Europe; today the Library contains approximately 800,000 volumes, most of them dating from before 1850. It includes many special collections, manuscripts, and documents in all areas of history and the humanities for the early modern period.

Independent research libraries are fragile treasure houses of our civilization. They represent vital elements in America's cultural heritage, and they make a unique contribution to the quality of American life.

Directory


American Antiquarian Society
185 Salisbury Street
Worcester, Massachusetts 01609-1634
Tel: 508-755-5221; Direct dial: 508-471-2161
Fax: 508-753-3311
http://www.americanantiquarian.org
Ms. Ellen S. Dunlap, President
Email: edunlap@mwa.org


American Philosophical Society
105 South Fifth Street
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19106-3386
Tel: 215-440-3400; Direct dial: 215-440-3403/5
Fax: 215-440-3423; Direct fax: 215-440-8579
http://www.amphilsoc.org
Dr. Martin L. Levitt, Librarian
Email: mlevitt@amphilsoc.org
Sandra Duffy, Assistant
Email: mailto:sduffy@amphilsoc.org


The John Carter Brown Library
Box 1894
Providence, RI 02912
Tel: 401-863-2725
Fax: 401-863-3477
http://www.jcbl.org
Dr. Neil Safier, Director and Librarian
Email: neil_safier@brown.edu
Maureen O'Donnell, Assistant
Email: maureen_odonnell@brown.edu


Canadian Centre for Architecture
1920, rue Baile
Montréal, Québec
Canada H3H 2S6
Tel: 514-939-7000; Direct dial: 514-939-7001, ext. 1322
Fax: 514-939-7032
http://www.cca.qc.ca
Martien de Vletter, Associate Director, Collection
Email: mdevletter@cca.qc.ca


The Folger Shakespeare Library
201 East Capitol Street, S.E.
Washington, DC 20003-1094
Tel: 202-675-0300/1
Fax: 202-675-0330
http://www.folger.edu
Michael Witmore, Director
Email: mwhitmore@folger.edu
Yvonne Barton, Assistant
Email: ybarton@folger.edu


The Getty Research Institute
Research Library
1200 Getty Center Dr., Ste. 1100
Los Angeles, CA 90049-1688
Tel: 310-440-7464; Direct dial: 310-440-7076
Fax: 310-440-7780; Direct fax: 310-440-7781
http://www.getty.edu/research/library/
Assistant Directors of the Getty Research Institute:
David Farneth
Email: dfarneth@getty.edu
Kathleen Salomon
Email: ksalomon@getty.edu
Cassandra Heiser, Assistant
Tel: 310-440-7433


The Hagley Museum and Library
298 Buck Road
P.O. Box 3630
Wilmington, DE 19807-0630
Tel: 302-658-2400
Fax: 302-658-0568
www.hagley.org
David A. Cole, Executive Director
Email: dcole@hagley.org
Erik Rau, Library Director
Email: erau@hagley.org


The Historical Society of Pennsylvania
1300 Locust Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107-5699
Tel: 215-732-6200, Direct Dial: Page Talbott, ext. 213
Fax: 215-732-2680, Direct Dial: Aja Davis, Assistant, ext. 214
http://www.hsp.org/
Ms. Page Talbott, President/CEO
Email: ptalbott@hsp.org
Lee Arnold, Library Director
Email: larnold@hsp.org


The Huntington Library, Art Collections, and Botanical Gardens
1151 Oxford Road
San Marino, CA 91108-1299
Tel: 626-405-2100; Direct dial: 626-405-2114/5
Fax: 626-405-0225; Direct fax: 626-405-2289
http://www.huntington.org
Dr. Steven S. Koblik, President
Email: skoblik@huntington.org
Kathy Hacker, Assistant
Email: khacker@huntington.org
David S. Zeidberg, Avery Director of the Library
Email: dzeidberg@huntington.org


The Library Company of Philadelphia
1314 Locust Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107-5698
Tel: 215-546-3181
Fax: 215-546-5167
http://www.librarycompany.org
Dr. John C. Van Horne, Director
Email: jcvh@librarycompany.org


Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering & Technology
5109 Cherry Street
Kansas City, Missouri 64110-2498
Tel: 816-363-4600; Toll Free: (800) 662-1545
General Fax: 816-926-8790
http://www.lindahall.org
Lisa Browar, President
Email: browarl@lindahall.org
Paula Wheeler, Assistant
Email: wheelerp@lindahall.org
Tel: 816-926-8745


Massachusetts Historical Society
1154 Boylston Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02215-3695
Tel: 617-536-1608; Direct dial: 617-646-0520
Fax: 617-859-0074
http://www.masshist.org
Mr. Dennis Fiori, Director
Email: dfiori@masshist.org
Mr. Peter Drummey, Librarian
Email: pdrummey@masshist.org


The Morgan Library and Museum
225 Madison Avenue
New York, NY 10016-3405
Tel: 212-685-0008; Direct dial: 212-590-0305
Fax: 212-768-5605
http://www.morganlibrary.org
Dr. William M. Griswold, Director
Email: wgriswold@themorgan.org
Deborah Windard, Assistant
Email: dwinard@themorgan.org
V. Heidi Hass, Director of Research Services
Email: vhhass@themorgan.org


The Newberry Library
60 W. Walton Street
Chicago, IL 60610-7324
Tel: 312-943-9090; Direct dial: 312-255-3600
Fax: 312-255-3712
http://www.newberry.org
Mr. David Spadafora, President and Librarian
Email: spadaforad@newberry.org


The New York Academy of Medicine
1216 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10029-9957
Tel: 212-822-7200; Direct dial: 212-822-7237
Fax: 212-423-0273
http://www.nyam.org
Lisa O'Sullivan, Director, Center for the History of Medicine and Public Health
Email: losullivan@nyam.org
Paul Theerman, Associate Director, Center for the History of Medicine and Public Health
Email: ptheerman@nyam.org


The New-York Historical Society
2 West 77th Street
New York, New York 10024-5194
Tel: 212-873-3400
Fax: 212-873-1042
http://www.nyhistory.org
Ms. Louise Mirrer, President (ext. 273)
Email: louise.mirrer@nyhistory.org
Michael Ryan, Vice President & Director of the Patricia D. Klingenstein Library (ext. 219)
Email: michael.ryan@nyhistory.org
Catherine Carl, Assistant
Email: catherine.carl@nyhistory.org


The New York Public Library, Astor, Lenox, and Tilden Foundations
Fifth Avenue and 42nd Street
New York, NY 10018-2788
Tel: 212-930-0674
Fax: 212-869-3567
http://www.nypl.org
Dr. Anthony Marx, President
Email: president@nypl.org
Sam Rubin, Assistant
Email: samrubin@nypl.org
Suan Carman, Assistant
Email: susancarman@nypl.org
Tel: 212-930-0736, Fax: 212-930-9299
Ann Thornton, Andrew W. Mellon Director and Chief Executive of the Research Libraries
Email: annthornton@nypl.org
Victoria Steele, Ph.D., Brooke Russell Astor Director of Collection Strategy
Email: victoriasteele@nypl.org
Tel: 212-930-0536, Fax: 212-930-0905


The Virginia Historical Society
428 North Boulevard
PO Box 7311
Richmond, Virginia 23221-0311
Tel: 804-358-4901; Direct dial: 804-342-9656
Fax: 804-355-2399
http://www.vahistorical.org
Dr. Paul A. Levengood, President and CEO
Email: plevengood@vahistorical.org
Canan K. Boomer, Assistant
Email: cboomer@vahistorical.org


Winterthur Museum, Garden and Library
Route 52
Winterthur, DE 19735
Tel: 302-888-4600
Fax: 302-888-4870; 302-888-3367

http://www.winterthur.org

Gregory J. Landrey, Dwight and Lorri Lanmon Director of Academic Affairs
Email: glandrey@winterthur.org
E. Richard McKinstry, Library Director and Andrew W. Mellon Senior Librarian
Email: ermcki@winterthur.org


German Affilliate Member

Herzog August Bibliothek
Postfach 1364
D-38299 Wolfenbuttel, Germany
http://www.hab.de
Prof. Dr. Helwig Schimidt-Glintzer
Email: schmidt-gl@hab.de


Return to top of this page
Last Modified: Mon Jun 2 2014